Historic moments at Zwartkops

HRSA Saloons, Sportscars & Pursuit wow Pretoria

Historic Racing South Africa returned to Zwartkops on Saturday, where Willie Hepburn’s original Opel Rekord topped a great V8 show in the Universal Saloon Cars. Richard de Roos’ Porsche 911 RSR dominated the Sports & GTs and two more Porsche men, Wernher Hartzenberg and Wynand du Plessis Sr. took the respective Trophy and Fines cups home in Charlies’ Super Spar Pursuit races.
The Universal Healthcare Historic Saloon Car races proved a classic General Motors V8 show. Willie Hepburn drove the wild Class A Sabat-Amtec 1989 Opel Rekord he made so famous in its heyday, to double victory, starting with a race 1 win over PE visitor Rudolf de Vos’ stunning Basil van Rooyen tribute Class B 73 ‘Little Chevy’ Can Am.
Behind them, Jannie van Rooyen made a break in his 76 VW Scirocco to take Class C from the duelling Johann Smith’s wailing JMS ’76 Mazda Capella and Stuart Konig’s Northern Bolt & Tool Scirocco. Marius Verwey’s 69 Mazda R100 held the returning Mario Rossi’s ’84 FAS Alfa Romeo GTV6 off in an intriguing Class D battle of the ages after Alan Green’s Escort failed to start.
Andre ten Napel’s TNMC Medical 76 VW Scirocco beat Tegan Leyshon’s similar 1979 VW car and Rene van Rensburg’s SV Tech ’76 Ford Escort in a thrilling Class E dice ahead of Riaan Roux’s Scirocco. Jaco Roux’s ’79 Addfin Scirocco meanwhile put one over Sean Hepburn’s Hi-Q Midrand 1975 Datsun 1200 Deluxe and Willem Vonk’s Frog Security ’78 Escort in Class F. 
Trevor Keir won Class G in his 1975 Mercedes from Andre Dannhauser’s Pro Auto Rubber1975 Toyota SR5 and John Simpson and Jan Jacobs’ 1965 Alfa Romeo GT Juniors, after Riaan de Ru hit trouble in his Vestige ’53 Ford Perfect.
Willie Hepburn stormed to race 2 victory after Rudolf de Vos hit trouble. That left Jannie van Rooyen’s Mazda to fend Stuart Konig and Johann Smith’s Class C Sciroccos for second, third and fourth overall. Marius Verwey did the Class D double over Mario Rossi and Alan Green, and Tegan Leyshon emerged ahead of the Class E tussle from Rene van Rensburg. Riaan Roux and Andre ten Napel.
Sean Hepburn returned to the front in Class F in race 2, while Class G winner John Simpson separated the Class F second man Jaco Roux and Willem Vonk in third. And Andre Dannhauser ended second in G from Trevor Keir, Jan Jacobs and Riaan de Ru. Overall, Willie Hepburn won Class A, Rudolf de Vos took the B trophy, Jannie van Rooyen C and Marius Verwey Class D. Tegan Leyshon took the Class E win, Jaco Roux Class F and Trevor Keir Class G overall.
In the HRSA Sports & GT races, Richard de Roos’ Class B RDR ’74 Porsche 911 RSR put one over Chad Ten Doeschate’s Class A 1963 Ford Cobra, Josh Dovey’s ’66 Ginetta and Andre van der Merwe’s Evapco ’76 Porsche 934.5. Peter Bailey was next up in his Bailey Cars 65 Ford GT40, ahead of TAR duo Ryan Quan Chai’s ’63 Daytona Cobra and Mark du Toit’s 1965 Lola T70. De Roos took race 2 and the day two from Class B overall winner Chad Ten Doeschate, van der Merwe, Dovey, Quan Chaiis  Bailey, du Toit and John Ten Doeschate.

Pursuit Perfection

Gary Stacey’s Coastal Hire 1964 Ford Cortina was first home in the opening Charlie’s SuperSpar HRSA Pursuit race. He however broke out of his handicap bracket to hand victory to the returning John Simpson and his racecar Trophy class 1965 Alfa GT Junior. Street car Fines class winner Machiel Oberholzer’ Aquaperm ’83 Mercedes 190E was second from Trophy man Wernher Hartzenberg’s Aircooled Wonders ’82 Porsche 928. Fines trio Robert Clark’s 79 Citroen Club, Wynand du Plessis Sr’s DBM Architects Porsche 944 and Frans Venter’s ’86 Nissan 280ZX followed.
Kola de Klerk’s Nissan 300ZX led a train of Trophy cars home, including Stan Stacey’s Ford XR6 Interceptor, Devon Martin’s Datsun GX, Riaan Roux in a VW Scirocco and Willem van Niekerk’s classic Marauder. Joshua de Klerk’s Honda Civic, Tegan Leyshon’s  Scirocco, Tiaan Vermeuen in a Nissan 300 ZX, Tihan van Rooyen’ Porsche 924 and Wynand du Plessis Jr’s Toyota MR2 were next up.
Wernher Hartzenberg took race 2 in his 928 from Trophy class rival Kola de Klerk’s 300 ZX and Fines winner Wynand du Plessis’ 944. John Simpson was fourth from Rob Clark and Frans Venter, followed by Riaan Roux, Devon Martin, Tegan Leyshon and Josh de Klerk. Then came Gary Stacey, Tiaan Vermeulen and Tihan van Rooyen. It was not a good day for the Stacey’s as Stan was first home, but like Gary in race 1, he broke out along with Willem van Niekerk.
Wernher Hartzenberg took overall Trophy honours from John Simpson, Kola de Klerk, Riaan Roux and Devon Martin. Wynand du Plessis Sr. took the Fines cup from Rob Clark, Frans Venter and Machiel Oberholzer.
The lockdown limited 2020 Historic Racing South Africa season concludes at the final round five at Red Star Raceway on Saturday 14 November.