Sean Hepburn

Historics march on Pretoria

HRSA Sports, GT, Saloon and Pursuit series set for Zwartkops

Historic Racing South Africa is marching to Pretoria as the series prepares for its fourth round races at the Zwartkops Raceway on Saturday 22 May. Tight and twisty Zwartkops not only makes for close and spectacular action, but races there often attract larger than normal entry lists in classes to the Sports, GT, Saloon and Charlies Super Spar Pursuit series races.

HRSA Sports & GT winner at Phakisa last time out, Peter Bailey’s Class C Porsche RSR holds a tight four-point championship advantage over class rival, Andre van der Merwe’s similar car and the consistent Steve Pickering’s Class H Porsche 910 heading to Pretoria. Class F leader Stefan Puschavez and Class D leader George Avvakoumides are next up in the title chase in two more RSRs.

Even more Carrera RSRs are likely to join the Zwartkops fray in the hands of Rui Campos, Richard de Roos, Fred Konig and Stefan Snyders. But will anyone take challenge to all those Porsches in another make?

All of those Sports & GTs will have their work cut out to keep ahead of the wieldy front-running HRSA Pre-80 Saloon Cars though. And that championship tussle is even closer, with Alan Green’s wheel-waving Class D Ford Escort and Sean Hepburn’s Class E Datsun 1200 Deluxe tied in the title lead, a short head in front of second class D man Andre Ten Napel’s Volkswagen Scirocco.

In the classes, Nelson Mandela Bay visitor Rudolf de Vos may well make the trip with his incredible ‘Little Chevy’ Firenza Can-Am V8, while the wailing Class C Mazda Rotaries, Deon van Vuuren’s ’69 Mazda R100 and Johann Smith’s Capella can be expected to snap at his heels. The Class D frontrunners, Green and Ten Napel, as well as Stuart Konig’s Scirocco and expect Rene van Rensburg’s Ford Escort to be right in there too.

Sean Hepburn will have Riaan and Jaco Roux’s Sciroccos, Ian Kilburn’s Datsun GX, Terence Ladner’s Ford Capri and Neil Lobb in a Fiat 131 to deal with in Class E. Cor Kraamwinkel and Mike MacGregors’ BMW 2002s will entertain in Class F, while Class G leader Jan Jacobs’ Alfa Romeo GT Junior will duke it out with Harm Beens’ Ford Escort, Devon Martin’s Datsun and Cam McLeod’s Mercedes-Benz 280 Coupe. Rob van Aarle’s Escort and Mike Thompson will race in Class H.

Joining the scratch racers on Zwartkops’ HRSA bill, the handicap Charlies Super Spar Pursuit series is always a thriller. There, Modified Fines class rivals Wynand du Plessis Sr. in a Porsche 944 S2 and Werner Hartzenberg’s Porsche 916 lead the championship chase ahead of street car Fines Class leader, Richard Tudor-Owen’s Mercedes-Benz 190E.

Lauren van Aarle’s Ford Escort, Althea Pretorius in a Nissan Exa and Willem van Niekerk’s Marauder are others to watch in Modified Fines, Bert van Aarle’s Mazda MX5 in the Fines Class, while Harm Beens Jr.’s Ford Escort and Devon Martin in a Datsun GX 1200 Coupe are in the race car Trophy class championship chase.